RSS
people

What is CPM Advertising?

What is CPM?

Cost per Mille (CPM) is often commonly known as cost per thousand (Mille in Latin means thousand) and is a measurement used in advertising on the Internet as well as in print and television media which can be purchased on the basis of what it would cost to show the advertisement to one thousand viewers (CPM).

An example of computing the CPM:

1. Total cost for running the ad is $15,000.
2. The total audience is 2,400,000 people.
3. CPM is calculated as CPM = $15,000/(2,400,000/1000) = $6.25

Effective cost per mille

Effective cost per mille (eCPM) is used to measure the effectiveness of a publisher’s inventory being sold via a CPA, CPC or CPT program. In effect eCPM will indicate to the publisher what he or she would have earned if the sold the advertising inventory on a CPM basis.

No Comments | Tags:

Popup / Popunder Malware Alert

Webmasters making use of CPM or PPC services are urged to reconsider and properly investigate the usage of popup and popunder advertisements on websites as a source of generating income.

Many reports have surfaced on the Internet where webmasters and their visitors complained about the number of malware contained in popup and popunder advertisements placed on websites. This malware include the silent installation of browser hijackers, trojans and other type of viruses.

Investigations revealed that this type of malware originated from a number of legitimate services providers and it would appear that unscrupulous advertisers misuse these advertising services in installing malware in the advertisements.

If a webmaster is interested in making use of these types of advertisements, it is highly suggested that investigation is first conducted on the Internet on the advertising provider and their services. By conducting search engine searches on the provider webmasters will often be in a position to identify targeted advertising providers who pose a risk to their websites.

Another disadvantage is that users may report websites to search engines. Such search engines, especially Yahoo! And Google, may list a warning against the webmasters’ site. This will drive away tons of new potential traffic.

One important thing to take into consideration is whether the CPM rate is worth the number of visitors one will loose. Often advertising providers will pay a fee per 1000 unique views of the popup or popunder. This fee is often less than 4c. Is this 4c really worth loosing a large number of website visitors and getting blacklisted in search engines such as Google and Yahoo!?

No Comments | Tags: